Massage Therapy is governed by the Washington State Department of Health, Board of Massage
As of September 1, 2021, the minimum education and training hours increased from 500 to 625 hours.
The State of Washington requires the following to obtain a Massage Therapy License:
- Successful completion of a minimum 625 hours approved massage therapy program:
- If applying by endorsement, substantial equivalency means either:
- A minimum of 625 hours of education and training
- A minimum of 500 hours of education plus 2 years of experience and documentation of at least 24 CE in the 2 years prior to the application
- Successful completion of a national licensing exam (MBLEx or NCBTMB exam)
- Successful completion of the Washington State Jurisprudence Examination
- Valid CPR and First Aid credentials
- Criminal history check
Massage Therapy licenses are subject to renewal every two years on the practitioner’s birthday.
Continuing Education Information
The Massage Therapy License requires the completion of 24 CE every two years for renewal. Of the 24 CE, 8 CE must be in person and directly supervised. Of the 24 CE, 4 CE must be in Professional Ethics, Client or Patient Communication, Professional Role and Boundaries, or Washington State massage laws and rules.
The State of Washington* accepts courses for continuing education hours from providers in the CE Registry. The State of Washington also accepts courses for continuing education hours from providers approved by the NCBTMB.
Dexterity PD is a proud Approved Provider with the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB). Our courses are available and listed in the CE Registry. Course completion records are stored in the national Massage Therapy Licensing Database (MTLD) for permanent recording.
Dexterity PD is a proud Approved Provider with the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB). The most current list of our courses approved by the NCBTMB can be found on our NCBTMB Approved Provider Profile Page.
*Please confirm with your state as the list of states that accept courses through CE Registry may change. Additionally, please refer to your State and/or Licensing body for details and authoritative information on requirements.