Florida Board of Massage Therapy
Length of Program 500 hours
License Required Yes
Practicing MTs 36,586
CE Requirements 24 CE / 2 years

Massage Therapy

Massage therapy is governed by the Florida Board of Massage Therapy.

To obtain a Massage Therapist License, the following are required:

  1. Credentials
    • Successful completion of a min. 500 hours program of in-class supervised instruction and clinical work
    • Completion of a 10-hour Florida Laws & Rules course with an approved CE provider or as part of a course of study at a board approved massage school in Florida
  2. Examination
    • Successful completion of a national competency exam (NCETM, NCETMB, or NESL, or MBLEx)

Licensed Massage Therapists are renewed by the department on August 31, every odd year.

Continuing Education Information

The Florida Department of Health reviews continuing education records in the Department’s electronic tracking system, powered by CE Broker, at the time of license renewal.

The Florida Board of Massage Therapy accepts courses for continuing education hours from approved providers.

Dexterity PD is a proud Approved Provider with the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB). Our courses are available and listed in CE Broker.