|Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy|
|Length of Program||500 hours|
|CE Requirements||Column 2 Value 4|
The State of New Jersey requires the following to obtain a Massage Therapy License:
- Successful completion of a minimum 500 hours approved massage therapy program
- Successful completion of a national licensing exam offered by the NCBTMB or the MBLEx offered by the FSMTB
The Massage Therapist license must be renewed by November 30th of every even year.
Continuing Education Information
Renewal of the Massage Therapist License renewal requires the completion of 20 CE during the two-year licensed period. Of the 20 CE, 2 CE must be in Ethics and 1 CE in the law and rules pertinent to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy in New Jersey.
Licensees are typically permitted to obtain a total of 6 CE through courses presented online or through DVDs.
As of Executive Order No. 103, Massage and Bodywork Licensees are permitted to obtain all 24 CE through online courses.
The State of New Jersey* accepts courses for continuing education hours from providers in the CE Registry. The State of New Jersey also accepts courses for continuing education hours from providers approved by the NCBTMB.
Dexterity PD is a proud Approved Provider with the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB). Our courses are available and listed in the CE Registry. Course completion records are stored in the national Massage Therapy Licensing Database (MTLD) for permanent recording.
Dexterity PD is a proud Approved Provider with the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB). The most current list of our courses approved by the NCBTMB can be found on our NCBTMB Approved Provider Profile Page.
*Please confirm with your state as the list of states that accept courses through CE Registry may change. Additionally, please refer to your State and/or Licensing body for details and authoritative information on requirements.